Being conformed

Story:

I’ve once had the opportunity to spend a few weeks with a friend of mine. As the time progressed that I stayed with him I started to conform to the things he does. So I basically started to do the things the way he does it.

The reason for the story:

The analogy I want to make is between spending time with friends and spending time with Jesus. As I told you in the story, I later on started doing the things my friend does. If we want to follow in the footsteps of our Lord Jesus, then we need to spend more time with Him. The moment we spend more time with Him, we will start to pick up certain characteristics of Him and start to do the things He did when He was on earth.

Therefor we mustn’t conform to the things of this world, but by the renewing of our mind know what is from God and what is from the world.

I am not saying that we mustn’t spend time with our friends, we do need to, but if we want to strive to be like Jesus, then we need to sometimes sacrifice the time we spend with our friends and come and sit at our Lord’s feet.

Hope you are blessed by this.

Author: Christiaan vd Merwe

The words I write is inspiration from the Holy Spirit. All glory to God!

Leave a Reply

