Devotion on previous post (Overflow Devo)

We will be working with Psalm 23 over the next 6 days (including today).

Psalm‬ ‭23:5‬ ‭“You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

In life we go through some tough times. Trails and tribulations that tests our character in general, but also our Spiritual authority. In the previous post I talked about the love of God overflowing in our lives, compelling us to do good in the Father’s eyes. If we are filled by His love, we will want to do good. Reminds me of that scripture which says “cling to what is good and flee from what is evil”. Therefor it is important to spend time with God. Not just read the Bible, but also be still before Him, waiting upon Him to speak to you. This last couple of weeks I’ve changed my devotion to worship, being still (waiting upon the Lord and also experiencing how He fills me with His love, praying) and then going into the Word. It has really been helping me to stand against the attacks of the enemey, because I was filled with the love of God. That is why we begin with verse 5 of Psalm 23, because God let our cup overflow with His love. When we are filled with His love, we experience a sense of freedom that nothing else in life can give us. That love keeps our Light burning in the times of trouble. That Light helps us to serve other with God love and create an oppertunity to have an encounter with the Father’s love. 

Even though the attacks come. We know God is by our side and has called us to live a holy life. That is where ‘You anoint my head with oil’ comes in. He has anointed and chosen us to stand up against the attacks of the enemy, not jsut for ourselves, but for others as well. 

Continue to live in His presence, being filled by His love that enables you to overcome and walk in victory.

Have a blessed day.

Author: Christiaan vd Merwe

The words I write is inspiration from the Holy Spirit. All glory to God!

Leave a Reply

