Dark valley… Grace (Devo)

Psalm‬ ‭23:4‬ ‭“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”‭‭

On Saturday night I had the worst experience of my life. For the first time in my life I had serious suicidal thoughts and I wanted to do it… But i kept on messaging people and staying in contact asking people to pray for me, because I was in desperate need. That was my darkest valley and yet God was faithful and carried me through it with His grace. With His rod and staff He comforted me. The next morning I went to church and struggled to worship and really experienced this heavy burden on me. I just experienced God telling me that the devil was trying to condemn me. I got home and spent time in the Word of God. After that I switched on my phone and got a voice note from a friend. In that voice notes the friend gave me words of encouragement that I needed in that moment. Like i cant even explain how perfect the timing was. Like I experienced some fear and then the next moment the voice note would come through and it would be exactly to a scripture that would speak to that fear. That is so epic. The most radical thing of all this is the fact that the scriptures that this person encouraged me with was from her dad’s sermon he preached to a totally different congregation. AMAZING!! God is good and all the time God is good. Faithful Father! 

Even if you go through a rough time. Tell those close to you to pray for you. They are there for you and want to help. For we ought to encourage each other in faith and times of trouble. Unity in the body of Christ!

Author: Christiaan vd Merwe

The words I write is inspiration from the Holy Spirit. All glory to God!

Leave a Reply

